Skip to content

The Doldrums are Setting In

October 29, 2010
Ambrose Bierce. Portrait by J.H.E. Partington.

Image via Wikipedia

MAN, n. An animal so lost in rapturous contemplation of what he thinks he is as to overlook what he indubitably ought to be. His chief occupation is extermination of other animals and his own species, which, however, multiplies with such insistent rapidity as to infest the whole habitable earth and Canada.–THE DEVIL’S DICTIONARY by Ambrose Bierce (1888-1906)–

I’m so bored right now I don’t even know what to right write or even how to spell the word write.  I’ve been perusing The Devil’s Dictionary on the Project Gutenberg website and have been finding it a really amusing piece of literature.  It is a completely satirical dictionary written between 1888 and 1906.  Also this is a perfectly appropriate book to be reading due to the time of year.  I’m not a huge Halloween fan, but I am a love of all things horror.  Though the Devil’s Dictionary is hardly a book you would refer to as horror … more like laugh your ass off at stuff that is still fully applicable to today’s society, even though it was written over 100 years ago.

I’m not sure of what else to write so to kill time I will give you some descriptions of the things I see around me:

The sky looks fierce outside my office window and yet the sun is reflected off of the tree leaves just perfectly.  My little eraser monster (a creation I made several months ago) is staring up at me with a grin.  Perhaps it is time to pull the sharpie out and fix his cheerful disposition.  The second hand on the clock is ticking in slow motion (I swear it).  My nieces are making silly faces at me from inside their picture and the book they are reading says exactly how I feel every morning “I am NOT Going to Get Up Today!.”  My email keeps glaring at me saying NO NEW MESSAGES!

NO NEW MESSAGES … It’s Friday … I just want to go home and do something constructive — Like play video games and read books!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 1:21 pm

    I was typing away a comment on your other post when I glanced to the right and saw Ambrose Bierce so I had to click on it!

    I love The Devil’s Dictionary. I picked up a cheap copy at a book fair a few years ago not realising what it was. So. Happy. Afterwards. It might offend some people, but if you can look past the sexism and racism, I agree that there’s a lot in there that still applies to now. Books like that are awesome.

    P.S. I those are good constructive choices you’ve picked.

Leave a Reply

