Skip to content

why am I doing this?

October 29, 2010
Film poster for Office Space - Copyright 1999,...

Image via Wikipedia

Why would I start a blog?

Have you ever seen the movie Office Space?  My work life is oddly similar to that portrayed in the movie.  I sympathize with the lead character way too much.

We don’t have a lot of time on this earth. We weren’t meant to spend it this way. Human beings were not meant to sit in little cubicles staring at computer screens all day …  — Office Space

So I spend my days sitting in my little cubicle, staring at my computer screen, wondering what I am supposed to do.  I generally have enough work to occupy about 1/4 of my time at work.  That leaves 3/4 of my time unaccounted for.  What am I supposed to do?  I’ve tried many options.  I’ve read online books, read the news (domestic and foreign), played games, looked at cute pictures, played music, looked at my phone, networked socially AND none of it has ever been enough to occupy my time.  I’m hoping that writing and bitching will help fill my time and amuse myself and maybe even the rare reader.  

A little about me:

  1. I used to be a lab rat (degree in zoology)
  2. Now I work on computers all day (minor in mathematics)
  3. I hate being stressed out (labs were always stressful)
  4. I get bored easily (I finish my computer work so fast I’m always bored)
  5. I love animals (I have 3 cats … I can’t convince my fiance to get me more pets right now)
  6. I don’t care for people (if I could work from home and hang out with my cats all day I would)
  7. I adore music (I always have my headphones in at work — right now I’m listening to http://www.pandora.com/)
  8. I love a good book (I’m always reading and quoting what I read)
  9. I love lists (I use them a lot)
  10. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up!!!!

Hopefully this is a good intro as to why I’m here and doing what I’m doing.  I’m not a great writer.  I’m not the most interesting writer, but if I can freelance write to kill time, explore what’s going on in my mind, maybe share any insight I get while sitting in my cubicle and staring at the clock counting down the hours, why shouldn’t I?  I know there are way smarter people out there with blogs BUT there are also some complete retards out there with blogs … so hopefully I fall in the middle.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

