Skip to content

Nostalgia

November 15, 2010
Laboratory mouse

Image via Wikipedia

nos·tal·gia
[no-stal-juh, -jee-uh, nuh-]
–noun
1.
a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness of a former place or time: a nostalgia for his college days.
2.
something that elicits or displays nostalgia.

Today I am feeling nostalgia for my old career.  I am missing the feel of working in a laboratory.  The knowledge that everyday I had something that needed tending to:  whether it was cells to look after or machinery to check was comforting.  I miss the delicacy and detailed nature of my job.  I miss working close together with researchers.  I miss getting to handle the lab rats and lab mice everyday.  I miss reading research papers and learning new things and new techniques.  I guess today I am missing the lab and how different it is from the office.  I never thought I would work in a cubicle, I was always against that.  But here I am and I’m not sad and I don’t hate it.  There are days when I thoroughly enjoy this job.  BUT there are days like today when I miss the excitement and stress of working in the research laboratory.

Nostalgia can be a cruel thing.  I’m remembering only the good parts of my old jobs.  There were bad parts and those parts I haven’t reminded myself of yet.  If I were to quit my current job and go back to the research laboratory … would I be happy?  I’m not sure … possibly if I found the right laboratory to work at.  Right now I’m working in a good place … just dull at times.

What sort of lab jobs did I have?  Here’s a list:

  1. Blood Processor
  2. Cultured Cancer Cells
  3. Cultured Viral Cells
  4. Performed Surgery on Mice/Rats
  5. Monitored Vital Signs on Mice/Rats in an MRI System
  6. Pre-clinical Drug Testing
  7. Veterinary Microbiologist

What I do today?

  1. Excel Spreadsheets
  2. Word Documents
  3. Other Software
  4. Assist Others with above
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 7:09 pm

    The lab work definitely sounds more intriguing! But there are good and bad aspects of every job, and sometimes all we can do is make the best of our current situation.

    • November 16, 2010 7:03 am

      Yep. The lab work was more intriguing, but it was so much more stressful and competitive. I think the best saying coined was “the grass is always greener on the other side.”
      There is always good and bad no matter where you are.

Leave a Reply

