Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Borrowing

November 18, 2010
San Diego City College Learing Recource City r...

Image via Wikipedia

I found a new and interesting blog today that poses interesting book related questions and asks bloggers to comment on them … This is my first time ever seeing something like this so … here goes the question:

Who would you rather borrow from? Your library? Or a Friend?

(Or don’t your friends trust you to return their books?)

And, DO you return books you borrow?

And my answer …

I prefer borrowing books from the library though in recent years, I’ve become addicted to growing my own personal library and have been buying books from used bookstores.

Whenever I do borrow books, it’s from the library.  There is something magical in wandering up and down aisle upon aisle of books and being able to spend hours delving into every subject you can think of.  My two favorite sections to peruse while at the local library are Science Fiction/Fantasy & Cooking.  Science Fiction/Fantasy because I’m a Fantasy nerd and Cooking because I love learning new recipes.  The other great thing about the library is the new release section and being able to explore on your own and find out about new and strange authors.  For as long as I can remember I have had a library card and have gone to the library.  I always come back from a trip to the library with my arms loaded with books.

Perhaps I like the library better than borrowing from a friend because my close friends all live far away from me and it’s rather difficult to borrow a book and easily return it to someone living a thousand or so miles away from you.

When I do borrow from a friend, I am a terrible borrower.  Another reason to avoid borrowing.  Oftentimes I go through books so quickly, that I forget what was loaned to me and what I own.  I don’t do this on purpose.  I like being a good friend, but if your book ends up on my bookshelf … watch out … it may not leave it until it’s time for me to read the book again … or you tell me it belongs to you!

My local library has made returning books I borrow much easier.  They send me a lovely reminder email and let me renew books I’m not finished with online … gotta love that the library is so technologically with it!

Booking Through Thursday

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 2:27 pm

    We both share a love of the library!

Leave a Reply

