Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – First

December 2, 2010
Photo of binding of 1780 Farley Edition of Dom...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

How about First Editions? Are they something special? Or “just another book” to you?

My answer …I think old books are wonderful, but I don’t care whether they are first or 3oth editions.  To me the value of a book is the book itself, not whether it was some special print edition.

I admit I am snobbish about some things regarding books.  I hate books with movie pictures on their covers, I always look for older releases when I come across those.  I love the smell and feel of old hard cover books and I do have some old books, but they aren’t first editions, just presents of love from family members and things collected since childhood.  Some old books have sentimental values, some I love because of their beauty, but none of them I chose because of their edition statuses.  Maybe I’d feel different if I actually owned a first edition book?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2010 8:51 am

    In some ways, I am not a fan of new covers. Some part of me likes the cover that was used when I first read the book.

  2. December 2, 2010 10:17 am

    Interesting question, don’t you think? I personally am an avid reader, not a collector of books, although, I do own alot. Here’s my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  3. December 2, 2010 1:15 pm

    If you’re being snobbish then not only am I, but I know a lot of people who are! I don’t like movie covers either, especially if I read a borrowed book before the movie and decide I want to get the book. I will hunt for an older cover of it every time.

  4. December 2, 2010 1:23 pm

    I agree with everything you say! I avoid those movie picture covers too lol

  5. December 2, 2010 2:57 pm

    I don’t mind movie pictures as long as the cover is appealing to me.

  6. December 2, 2010 5:14 pm

    It doesn’t matter to me if they are first editions or not.

Leave a Reply

