Skip to content

Book Blogger Hop – Popular Books

December 3, 2010

Book Blogger Hop

In the spirit of the Twitter Friday Follow, the Book Blogger Hop is a place just for book bloggers and readers to connect and share our love of the written word!  This weekly BOOK PARTY is an awesome opportunity for book bloggers to connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs to read!  So, grab the logo, post about the Hop on your blog, and start HOPPING through the list of blogs that are posted in the Linky list below!!

Here is today’s question:

“What very popular and hyped book in the blogosphere did you NOT enjoy and how did you feel about posting your review?”

My answer …I haven’t really begun reviewing many books and though I look for recommendations from the blogosphere I don’t usually follow what is hyped.  To be honest I go on book hunting sprees and I look for what sounds good to me.  I rarely follow mainstream recommendations.

I did read a book recently by New York Times Bestselling Author Jeff Rovin called Conversations with the Devil.  It was such an underwhelming book I didn’t feel like reviewing it.  I picked it up thinking I could at least find it comical and it wasn’t even that … to put it shortly there wasn’t much to the conversations.  So it may not have been a hyped book in the blogosphere, but being a New York Times bestselling author he is a bit of a hyped personality, but I don’t feel bad being honest.  I feel bad saying that somebody’s hard work may not be up to my standards, but at the same time I know I don’t fit into a mainstream mode.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 8:11 am

    I agree with your thoughts here…we do have to follow our own “bliss,” to discover what moves us.

    Thanks for hopping over to my blog.

  2. December 3, 2010 10:46 am

    Indeed. I agree. I love to review books for children to motivate them to read. Not so much for critique, but so that parents know what’s out there. As for me, I read what appeals to me. My TBR pile is hardly current. Some of the books are very old.

  3. December 3, 2010 11:39 am

    You’re smart to look for books that interest you, no matter what other people think of them. I usually, though not always, find over-hyped books to be nothing special.

    Glad to have found you via the Hop!

  4. December 3, 2010 2:45 pm

    Hey Dragonfly! Thanks for taking the time to stop by and follow me. I came by to return the favor. I didn’t see a GFC widget, so I subscribed by email. If you get GFC please be sure to let me know!

    I agree that it can be hard to write a negative review of something that an author put a lot of time into. That’s why I always try to find something good to say about it. I don’t like reviews that just out and out trash a novel because I don’t think that kind of criticism is constructive to the author.

    Happy Hop!

  5. December 3, 2010 5:05 pm

    I’m usually not big on reading books just because they are hyped up. Often I don’t like what everyone else likes. LOL

  6. December 3, 2010 7:23 pm

    I think reading and books in particular are a giant waste of time and adding to the general dumbing down of America’s elite suburban upper middle-class population of Brain Surgeons (street fight video contestants), Rocket Scientists (Mentoes and Diet Coke experts), Nobel Prize winning economists (i.e. SSDI and Welfare recipients) and New York Times Best Selling authors (people who use “prolly” and “LMFAO” or write replies to blogs wth a beginning with a 78 word run-on sentence). We need more time spent by our Nations youth on worthy pursuits such as Belly Button Lint collecting and the research and development of new and better methods of delivering a “Stink Palm” to your adversaries. PEACE OUT!!!!!!

    The Benevolent Lord of the Universe,
    Great Wyrmm

  7. December 3, 2010 11:39 pm

    While I’m not afraid to post a negative review I find I’m reading fewer and fewer books that I don’t care for. I think I’m getting better at picking books I know I’ll enjoy.

  8. December 4, 2010 7:56 pm

    Hi…thanks for stopping by my blog…I agree with you on reviewing books…I stick w/my own choices. Maybe, once I catch-up on those, I’ll start branching out…

    Happy Blogging.

Leave a Reply

