Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Crappy

December 9, 2010

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

Do you ever crave reading crappy books?

My Answer:

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

What does crappy entail?  The definition of crappy is purely subjective.  There are some people out there in the world who would define Homer’s The Illiad as a crappy book.

One of the main genres I read is Science Fiction/Fantasy.  This genre is filled with many novels that can be considered crappy, some I would definitely define as being such.  I don’t go out of my way to find crappy books, but sometimes when you pick up a book and read the back cover and find a synopsis that sounds too amusing to just let the book go … you find yourself reading what can be considered a crappy book.  I have a few books I found like that and by all conventional means they’d be considered “crappy” (or at least no Pulitzer prize winners).

So in the sense that there are some books out there that I own and read and that the general consensus considers them crappy would imply I read crappy books (at least sometimes).  Do I crave reading them?  That’s a difficult question?  Sometimes I want something silly and simple to read, so maybe I do crave that?

I have to remember though that everyone’s viewpoint of crappy is going to be a little different.  No person is going to agree completely on what a “crappy” book is.  So I might judge someone for reading a crappy book that they themselves would not consider crappy and the same may be considered for me.

Some additional clarification:

I don’t like reading poorly written novels.  I hate it when sentence structure is weak and grammar is poor.  I hate feeling like I need to have a red pen out while reading.  I also read the post this came from and I have a natural dislike for Dan Brown and the Twilight Series.  But once again my crappy book may be your treasured classic …

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 7:46 am

    I don’t crave crappy books. Check out my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  2. December 9, 2010 8:47 am

    Booking Through Thursday

    Do ever crave reading crappy books?

    Sometimes you just want to turn your mind off and be entertained. They’re like romantic comedy chick flicks.

  3. December 9, 2010 9:03 am

    It is all a matter of opinion! I like what I like and I am okay with that!

  4. December 9, 2010 3:12 pm

    Going by all the answers I have seen so far, I think perhaps the term crappy isn’t a well defined one when it comes to reading and the post that inspired the question didn’t really define it for me either. That’s just me though. Did you find the post to define it for you or is the word crappy still too subjective after reading it?

    I was curious to begin with, but more so after reading your answer.

  5. December 10, 2010 4:26 pm

    It’s an odd question, isn’t it? I think of crappy as bad, poorly written, boring or stupid plotting, and no- why would I crave one of those? But if by crappy the meaning is light reading, something that isn’t of the highest literary standards…something that I can whiz through, enjoy, but probably forget about in a day or two…well sure! I frequently crave a book I can read with little effort just for the simple escapist pleasure of it.

Leave a Reply

