Skip to content

Why I Write What I Write …

December 15, 2010

Today I thought I would explain a little about what I’m doing when I write about the books I read and later about my blog in general. 

I’m a reader, I always have been, and I always will be.  I’m not a reviewer.  What words I write are purely a collection of thoughts and ideas on a book after I read it.  I don’t know how to write a true review.  What I know how to do is try, often poorly, to write what I want to say about the book.  I love writing about books as it makes me think deeply about what I have read and allows me to encourage others to enjoy what I have just enjoyed.

Please think of my blog as a collection of thoughts on books and answers to questions that others ask.  I do participate in the weekly memes because I often enjoy the questions that are asked and reading answers others have.

Lately, aside from writing on my books and the memes, I’ve been having trouble finding my voice and writing about other topics.  I would like to make this blog a bit more lively with things other than just memes and thoughts on specific books … but it may take me time to find what topics are on my mind …

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 8:43 am

    That’s the way I feel about my own blog, as well. It’s more a collection of my thoughts and feelings toward the books that I read. There’s nothing wrong with that! To be honest, I’d prefer that over a review any day. I like thinking about the books I read, but I’m not really into analyzing them the way that many reviewers do.

  2. Darlyn permalink
    December 15, 2010 5:38 pm

    I’ve been experiencing the same problems regarding my blog–which also happens to be about reading, not just books, in general. I, too, want to find other reading-related topics that don’t focus on a particular book…

Leave a Reply

