Skip to content

Remarks on The Devil’s Queen by Jeanne Kalogridis

December 18, 2010

The Devil's Queen

He lay on the ground at my feet and I stood over him, wanting to help.  Blood welled up from his shadowed face like water from a spring and soaked the earth beneath him.  I knew I was responsible for this blood, that he would die if I did not do something.  Yet I could not fathom what I was to do.

Magic, sexual escapades, court intrigue, death, war … The Devil’s Queen A Novel of Catherine de Medici by Jeanne Kalogridis has it all.  Despite this fact, I am left wondering what I got out of this book.  There were times in the book where I was turning the pages fast desperate to know what would happen next and other times where I was immensely bored and wondering when something interesting would happen.  Sometimes I felt a connection with the protagonist other times I felt there was something lacking in her, that she was slightly two dimensional.  I’m not sure what was missing in this book. The story and plot line were fascinating.  The ideas were great.  I don’t believe there was much historical fact to the story line and that most of it was fiction, but that is to be expected in a historical fiction novel.  I was also left at times disturbed by the some of the characters in the story.

The imagery used to describe dreams, visions, magic, and clothing were spectacular.  They were filled with vivid details and allowed one to truly see those scenes.  Those aspects of the book were brilliant and well done.

After reading The Devil’s Queen I am left with a neutral feeling.  I don’t dislike the book, but I am not raving about it either.  I feel it is an fascinating read and had it’s good points, but it wasn’t one where it held my interest the entire time and it felt a little slow and drawn out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 10:04 am

    Thanks for the honest comments. I listen to my readers and care about what you think; I’m always working hard to improve. All best, Jeanne

  2. February 16, 2011 10:34 am

    Thank you for reading my review. I will definitely be reading more of your work and look forward to your new books.

Leave a Reply

