Skip to content

Remarks – The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots

January 4, 2011

The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots

I have added yet another book to my strange addiction to historical fiction and primarily history of the 16th century.  The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots by Carolly Erickson follows the life and love of Queen Mary the sixteenth century ruler of Scotland and heir to the English throne. It follows her intrigue in the French court, the Scottish court, Rome, and the English court.  The main plot line of this book follows her love of Lord Bothwell, “Jamie,” and the intrigue surrounding this love.

The book is well written and flows easily.  My main complaint with this book is that it follows the love story too much and spends less time on the fascinating history of the time.  I believe much more could have been added to this book to make it even more interesting.  It is a great story and if you like love stories mixed with history it is a perfect story, but I myself am more enraptured in the court intrigue and history involved than the love stories.

On an aside my cats ruined this beautiful copy of my book by knocking over not only an entire cup of water but a soda on the book.  I was worried I wouldn’t be able to finish it, but after warming the book in the oven, an ingenious idea by my fiance the book was saved and I was able to complete it.  I never thought of baking my book in the oven as a way of saving it from ruin.  I much prefer it when my cat tries to eat my books rather than pour water and soda on them.

Leave a Reply

