Skip to content

Reading Resolutions – Booking Through Thursday

January 6, 2011
New Year's Resolutions postcard

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

Any New Year’s reading resolutions?

My Answer:

I don’t usually make resolutions.  I’m terrible at keeping up with them and I’m kind of a wild spirit and do what I want when I want (okay that’s a lie).  I don’t want to call these resolutions, but I do have some ideas for the new year regarding my reading:

  • Read more nonfiction – usually I skip over this genre, but I really want to read more nonfiction books (I’m making a good start with the current biography I’m reading right now)
  • Don’t get stuck reading one genre
  • Remember good quotes in the books I read
  • Stick with the reading challenges I’ve signed up for (I don’t want to forget I’ve signed up for them)
  • Go to the library more and the bookstore less (this one will be hard … I love owning books)
  • Stay focused with this blog (I tend to bounce around projects and I’d like to keep this blog going)

Like I said before I’m not good at making resolutions, because I’m afraid I won’t follow through.  So we will call the above list my book blogging reading ideas for the year 2011.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 9:19 am

    Oh, more nonfiction! Yes, I need to do that too. I have a whole stack of books I’ve been meaning to (and really want to) read.

  2. January 6, 2011 9:59 am

    I love owning books too–I’ve resigned myself to it, but it also means I need to get rid of books more often.

    Good luck with the biography–that’s one of my favorite genres!

  3. January 6, 2011 12:13 pm

    Thanks for your comment on my blog! Those are some good resolutions! I need to read more non-fiction this year as well, and get back into the library too… a lot of the books I read are hard to find at the library, but that’s why they have the interlibrary loan!

  4. January 6, 2011 12:24 pm

    I like having my own books, but have made it a goal to try to use the library more this year. But, just this morning I called to request some books and they didn’t have any on my list. Story of my life and the library. But, I’m going to keep on trying,

  5. January 6, 2011 4:38 pm

    Those sound great! I don’t call them resolutions either. I feel like mine are goals, not resolutions.

Leave a Reply

