Skip to content

Life Changing – Booking Through Thursday/Book Blogger Hop

January 7, 2011

Book Blogger Hop

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows (Dec 23, 2010):

What book changed your life?

The Book Blogger Hop Question for January 7, 2011 is similar to this one:

What book influenced or changed your life? How did it influence/change you?

My Answer:

This question is like asking me what one song changed my life or what one person changed my life.  So many things can change your life in a unique way.

With a truly great book there are so many little sensations you can remember while you are reading it.  You remember where you were, what direction your life was going, what emotions that book evoked,  even minor details like what the chair you were sitting in felt like.  In many life changing moments those are also the details you remember.

I have never been able to narrow down books to a “favorite” or a life changer, because many of them have been that.  The classification of a life changing book also changes depending on your stage in life.  I have had books that changed my life as a child and books that have changed my life as an adult.  At every part of my life some book has probably played a role in shaping it.

Even a book I dislike can change my life in some fashion.  It makes me understand myself a little more and know my tastes that much better.  A great book can change your life in a pivotal sense, but a marginal book also creates a new life change.  It teaches you what roads and paths to avoid.

Overall each and every book creates some life changing event in your life by you simply choosing it and picking it up and reading it.  Every book opens up a new horizon on your journey in life.  I would say no one book has changed my life, but the sum of all that I have read has certainly changed it.  Each and every book I have read have made an impact on my life in some way, be it large or small.

Or perhaps this whole argument has been my way of saying I don’t want to pick a favorite 😛

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 7:38 am

    I like your conclusion.. I agree with you that in some instants we do learn from each book we read, as you say be it large or small, or better or worse.

  2. December 23, 2010 8:46 am

    Great answer. I said it too..

    Here is my BTT: Life-changing post!

  3. December 23, 2010 8:59 am

    You are spot on! Even a bad book can influence. 🙂

  4. December 23, 2010 9:44 am

    Which book changed your life?

    I would have to say the Harry Potter and Twilight series because they sparked so many conversations with people I know well and people I just met. It’s also fun talking with people about the different aspects between the books and the movies.

  5. December 24, 2010 7:36 am

    This is a great post. I had a hard time answering this, too, if only because I feel like so many of the books I’ve read have impacted me in some way or another.

  6. January 7, 2011 11:03 am

    LOL – great answer! I couldn’t pick any either. Every book I read affects me in some way. Glad I’m not the only one who couldn’t narrow down just one life-changing book.

    Glad to have found you via the Hop. Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. January 7, 2011 3:59 pm

    I agree. It’s a cumulative affect. I don’t have a single book to point to. Come by and see why.

  8. Howard permalink
    January 7, 2011 4:48 pm

    This will probably come of something as a surprise but the book that changed/influenced my life (more than any other) is a non-fiction book. I know we all focus on novels and the fanciful fiction we love to read but The Four Work Week is the book that gets all the credit. I know the title sounds fictional but it really isn’t. Hop over to my blog and find out why – http://www.howardsherman.net

    Happy Book Blogger Hop Day!

    Howard A. Sherman

  9. January 8, 2011 6:19 am

    I agree that even books you dislike can change your life or at least affect it. Ever book has an impact.
    Happy weekend!
    My Hop

  10. January 8, 2011 3:33 pm

    VERY interesting answer….you put some thought into your answer…excellent. I like it a lot….a book you disliked can REALLY have an influence.

    Stopping by from the blog hop.

    Happy New Year….

    My answer is at: http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    Elizabeth

  11. January 8, 2011 7:15 pm

    Stopping by from the hop. Have a great weekend!

    My hop is here

    Happy Reading,
    Zakiya LadyWings

  12. January 9, 2011 8:07 am

    Happy HOP! The book I shared had a major impact on me last year and totally changed my life for the better. Come by and visit to see which one it was. I’m a new follower 🙂

    The Bookish Snob

Leave a Reply

