Skip to content

Literary Blog Hop – How it all started …

January 7, 2011

Literary Blog Hop

The literary blog hop is a new meme I came across and I loved this weeks question:

How did you find your way to reading literary fiction and non-fiction?

My Answer:

Though my dad is the reader in the family, my mom is the first person I remember reading books with.  My first favorite book and the one I remember reading along with my mother was Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.  That book opened a whole new world for me and began an odyssey that has not ended.  My next big step was getting a public library card.  I was so proud of my card that I kept the same one until I was 14 years old.  My dad would always take me on his weekly trips to the library and those have always been some of my happiest times with him.

My first introduction into true literary works came from spending much of my time at my grandmother’s house.  She had the most splendid collection of books from my grandfather and great grandparents.  The pinnacle of which were an ancient leather bound set of the Collected Works of William Shakespeare.  Starting at the age of 10, I began flipping through these books and fell in love with the words contained within them.  I started with Hamlet and worked my way through the collection.  I did not always understand what I was reading, but I fell in love with the way the words flowed.  I would sometimes take the books and read aloud from them, just because I loved the way Shakespeare sounded.  To this very day I love those leather bound books and wish that my young hands had been more gentle with them, as I tore pages, so voracious was my appetite.

Without my parents and my discovery of old dusty books in my grandmother’s house perhaps I wouldn’t be the reader I am today.  Thanks to William Shakespeare I learned how beautiful the written word is.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 8:46 am

    Reading Shakespeare out loud is a wonderful way to enjoy his work, isn’t it?

    • January 13, 2011 12:58 pm

      Reading Shakespeare out loud is, I think, is an amazing way to experience his work.

  2. January 7, 2011 11:30 am

    I like it that you were so proud of your library card! I was a very frequent visitor of the library – 2 books per visit (max allowed), about 4 times a week or so. But when I started to read more literary works, it slowed down!

  3. January 7, 2011 2:05 pm

    So many people seem to have gotten into literary reading thanks to family, especially moms. You seem to be the exception having a dad that was a reader.

  4. FleurFisher permalink
    January 7, 2011 2:27 pm

    What a wonderful way to dicover the sheer beauty of words. And you have reminded me that my best friend and I pulled my grandfather’s Shakespeare from the shelf at a young age, and played out many dramatic scenes. A lovely memory, but I fear we mangled the words terribly.

    • January 13, 2011 12:59 pm

      I’m certain I mangled words too AND I’m certain I didn’t understand half of what I was reading … but it sounded pretty to me.

  5. January 7, 2011 3:52 pm

    I remember memorizing Shakespeare sonnets for fun while I was on the exercise bike in my garage. However, I was in high school. Shakespeare at ten is very impressive indeed.

    • January 13, 2011 1:00 pm

      People used to tell me that I was reading stuff that was way above me all the time and that I shouldn’t do it because I wouldn’t understand it. That just made the little rebel in me pick even harder books to read.

  6. January 7, 2011 3:55 pm

    I think I practically lived in my local library when I was growing up.

  7. January 8, 2011 7:43 am

    My grandparents were a big influence on me. My grandfather had an enormous bookshelf that I loved to browse.

    Here is my post for the Blog Hop.

  8. January 8, 2011 8:37 am

    Grandparents’ bookshelves seem to have played an important role for a few of us…

  9. January 9, 2011 9:00 am

    Ooooh Black Beauty! I loved the book and the cheesy tv show. Thanks for the memories. My thoughts are at eclectic/eccentric

  10. January 9, 2011 10:05 am

    Oh how I wish that I’d known someone while I was growing up that had a personal library–how exciting! My parents encouraged reading, but didn’t read a lot themselves, and didn’t own many books at all.

    • January 13, 2011 1:02 pm

      I guess I was pretty lucky. I grew up being poor and going to a very wealthy school … so I always thought what I had was slim pickings … but I probably had a lot more to choose from than many kids did.

  11. January 9, 2011 10:17 am

    See??? I knew there were still a lot of Shakespeare lovers out there! I’m not as big a fan as some of you but it brings me great comfort to read this post and the wonderful comments! I need you guys to keep me grounded as I fly off with dragons or get lost in the heart-felt words of true and/or unrequited love. 🙂 “But,” I hear you thinking, “that IS Shakespeare!” Okay. 🙂

    • January 13, 2011 12:56 pm

      I love Shakespeare … but I also sometimes fly off into the world of dragons 🙂 … I just love a good story and wonderful words

  12. January 9, 2011 12:12 pm

    Sadly, my sisters and I were about the only readers in our family….my brothers didn’t want any part of books. 🙂

    What wonderful answers and stories from everyone.

    My story is at:

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

