Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – First Books

January 13, 2011
First edition

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

Do you remember the first book you bought for yourself? Or the first book you checked out of the library? What was it and why did you choose it?

My Answer:

This is a hard question and I honestly don’t remember what the first book I bought or checked out from the library was.  Though I can make some guesses.

The first book I remember my mom and I reading together was Black Beauty by Anna Sewell.  I don’t know though if this book was one I picked out, one she picked out, one we bought, one we had already owned, or one we borrowed from the library.  I do know that it was a very important book to me and one I read over and over again.

Another guess would be The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, this set of books are the first ones I remember distinctly checking out from the school library over and over again.  They became very important to me and another obsession in the reading world of mine.  What compelled me to choose them?  That I will never know. All that I do know is once I started reading that series I was hooked.

Were these my first true books that I picked out?  I don’t know.  From an early age I had a library card and would go to the public library with my dad on the weekends.  I would come home with stacks of books.  The library was always important to me.  I also always had my own fairly well maintained personal library, though most of the books in there were supplied to me through gifts or required school readings.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 7:07 am

    You did a good job of remembering. It is great when parents introduce the love of reading to their children. Look at the wonderful memories you now have of your mother reading to you, and you and your fathers visits to the library each week.

    • January 13, 2011 12:54 pm

      I am very grateful that my parents instilled a love of reading and love of books in me.

  2. January 13, 2011 8:07 am

    I didn’t read the Narnia books until in my twenties but since then I’ve read them more times than I’ve kept count of! I can’t really remember my “firsts” but here is my attempt: http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/01/httpbtt2.html

  3. January 13, 2011 8:29 am

    I don’t remember first bought book, but I do remember first library book checked out. Check out my answer for Booking Through Thursday.

  4. January 13, 2011 12:32 pm

    I remember reading Black Beauty with my mom, too. We’d read a few pages everyday at nap time, so I must have been pretty young. Those are great memories!

  5. mervih permalink
    January 13, 2011 12:51 pm

    When I was a kid, I started to read the Black Beauty but it made me cry so much that I never finished it. Maybe I should give it another try…

    • January 13, 2011 12:53 pm

      It made me cry to, but it was still worth it … I think I read it over and over again despite it being really sad.

  6. January 15, 2011 8:48 am

    I adore the Narnia series. Growing up, I only ever remember reading the first three. I just loved the adventures within the pages. It wasn’t until I read them as an adult that I was able to see not only the adventures, but also the Christian allegory. They’re such great stories to read out loud!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Factoids – Anna Sewell - Man of la Book

Leave a Reply

