Skip to content

W…W…W…Wednesdays – January 19, 2011

January 19, 2011

W… W… W… Wednesdays are hosted by MizB at Should be Reading and asks the following three questions:

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

My Answers …

What are you currently reading?

I just started reading Catch-22 by Joseph Heller as part of the Back to the Classics Challenge I am doing.

Catch-22

Excerpt from Goodreads:

There was a time when reading Joseph Heller’s classic satire on the murderous insanity of war was nothing less than a rite of passage. Echoes of Yossarian, the wise-ass bombardier who was too smart to die but not smart enough to find a way out of his predicament, could be heard throughout the counterculture. As a result, it’s impossible not to consider Catch-22 to be something of a period piece. But 40 years on, the novel’s undiminished strength is its looking-glass logic. Again and again, Heller’s characters demonstrate that what is commonly held to be good, is bad; what is sensible, is nonsense.

What did you recently finish reading?

I just finished two books for the A Year of Feminist Classics Challenge: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft and So Long a Letter by Mariama Ba.

A Vindication of the Rights of Women

A Vindication of the Rights of Woman was published in 1792 and was a revolutionary piece of literature arguing for many issues that were controversial for the time and some that are still relevant today (such as the mind and reason to be more important than beauty).  See my blog posts here and here for a very thorough look on this and visit the A Year of Feminists Classics blog site for even more information.


So Long a Letter

So Long a Letter is a very heartfelt and moving story of a wife in Senegal, Africa reflecting on her marital issues and life after the death of her husband in the form of a long letter to her friend.  Visit  A Year of Feminists Classics blog site for  more information.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Well I have one more library book out, so before I go back to reading some of the books I own I figure I will read it so I can return everything to the library.  In the quick picks section of the library I found the following book, Eleanor the Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Acquitaine by Norah Lofts

Eleanor the Queen

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Eleanor of Aquitaine, the crusuding queen, rules as a modern woman of the twelfth century, in Norah Lofts beloved classic of royal fiction.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 1:27 pm

    Hi Dragonfly,

    I have four library books I will be reading in the next two weeks, and then back to my own books. You read a bit deeper than I do.

    Thanks for visiting My Reading Corner today, and in answer to your question about the Benjamin Button book… it is a short story by Fitzgerald. I read the book on Sunday afternoon, because I didn’t feel like reading a big book, I also have the DVD of Benjamin Button. I always like to read books first before I watch the movies, I always think the books are better than the movies. In this case the movie was best. However, the movie added characters that weren’t in the book. Let me say this, the movie was “loosely” based on the book.

  2. January 19, 2011 1:49 pm

    I have a feeling I will get stuck in a perpetual library loop before I get back to my own books – I’ve got a lot I want to read right now.

    I’m the same way about reading books before the movies. Thanks for letting me know about Benjamin Button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

