Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Heavyweights

January 27, 2011
It was <---this---> big!

Image by spodzone via Flickr

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

What’s the largest, thickest, heaviest book you ever read? Was it because you had to? For pleasure? For school?

My Answer:

The heaviest book I ever read was for my Cellular and Molecular Biology class in college, but then I didn’t read it cover to cover.  It was so heavy that I couldn’t even carry it in my backpack and I got frustrated enough with that I used it as a doorstop (it made an excellent doorstop by the way) and then sold it.  I also have a chemistry book at my house that is extremely heavy, but I’ve only used it as a reference book.

Of the pleasure books I’ve read, well I’ve read a lot of anthologies, so I have read many books that have surpassed the 1,000 page mark in that fashion, but I don’t know if those count or not.  If they do the two heaviest I have in my collection that I’ve read are The Cleric Quintet by R.A. Salvatore weighing 2.8 lbs and the Library of Classic Horror Stories also weighing in at 2.8 lbs.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 7:49 am

    Yes, I guess I’ve read some pretty heavy textbooks, too! Like those Norton Anthologies of Literature, and the Complete Shakespeare. I always hated having to carry those things around. But it was a good substitute for lifting weights.

    • January 27, 2011 7:57 am

      Definitely a good substitute for lifting weights … I agree … I was in fabulous shape when I was in college … now that I’m not … well I don’t have heavy books to lug around anymore … they can sit on my bookshelves.

  2. January 27, 2011 8:36 am

    You girls were really into the heavy books. Thanks for the visit to My Reading Corner today.

  3. January 27, 2011 10:08 am

    Yep….my head hurt just reading the title….That would be a bit too heavy for me. Here is my answer to this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  4. January 27, 2011 2:04 pm

    That must have been a heavy one if you were using it as a door stop! I thought that was amusing by the way, not that I’d ever use a book as a door stop, but I never read text books.

    I reckon anthologies count! Even if they are full of short stories they’re still books.

    • January 27, 2011 2:08 pm

      It was the heaviest book I’d ever seen … as a matter of fact I just found the title of it and looked it up on Amazon.com … it came in at a whopping 7.4lbs … seriously!!!

      • January 29, 2011 2:12 pm

        Woah! That is one heavy book. I wasn’t expecting that. I didn’t even think a book could get that heavy. Even when you can pick it up and feel the weight, it seems to still be surprising when you see it in written format, as if it makes the book all the more heavier.

        No wonder you used it as a door stop!

Leave a Reply

