Skip to content

Summary – The Month of January

February 4, 2011
January-scene-skating-early-1820s

Image via Wikipedia

The month of January was both a good month and a frustrating month for me.  I read some great books, discovered some great bloggers, and participated in some wonderful discussions for reading challenges.  January was also a difficult month for me.  My car broke down and my home was broken into.  Books and blogging really helped me keep my sanity.

Books Read:

  • The Memoirs of Mary Queen of Scots by Carolly Erickson
  • A Vindication of the Rights of Woman by Mary Wollstonecraft
    • blog post / blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Read for A Year of Feminist Classics
  • So Long a Letter by Mariama Ba
    • blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Paperback, 96 pages
    • Read for A Year of Feminist Classics
  • Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley
    • blog post
    • Read electronically on Project Gutenberg
  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
    • blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Hardcover, 561 pages
  • Eleanor the Queen by Norah Lofts
    • blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Paperback, 336 pages
  • The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
    • blog post
    • Read electronically on Project Gutenberg
  • King Kong Theory by Virginie Despentes
    • blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Paperback, 160 pages

Notes:

A Year of Feminist Classics:

Great discussions on A Vindication of the Rights of Woman and So Long a Letter were had on the Year of Feminist Classics blog site here.  I wrote a total of two blogs on A Vindication and one on So Long a Letter.  This is a great project and will continue with this throughout the year.

Back to the Classics Challenge:

Finished Catch-22, which was a great book and one I may not have picked up with out this challenge to motivate me.  I am still updating my booklist for this challenge – I can’t decide on what books I want to use.  Signed up for a Read-along for the Age of Innocence to start in February – using The Age of Innocence as Pulitzer Prize book.

Favorite Blogs:

I discovered one blog this month that I absolutely adore because of the diversity of books that she reads and that is Amy Reads.  Because of her and Eva at A Striped Armchair, I have a book wish list a mile long. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 12:28 pm

    What a great month you had, thank you again so much for participating in the Feminist Classics books this month! Also, thank you so much for mentioning me as a new favorite blog, I am so honored. And Eva is terrible in the worst possible way isn’t she?? She always adds a ton of books to my list as well 🙂

    • February 5, 2011 1:54 pm

      Thanks Amy! I really do love your blog … you read great stuff! And yes Eva is terrible for reading great stuff too!

  2. February 4, 2011 1:49 pm

    Amy’s blog is fantastic! I am constantly amazed at the variety of books she reads. Sorry for the snafus this month but good that your reading didn’t suffer. I really enjoyed Catch-22–would love to re-read it some day.

    • February 5, 2011 1:55 pm

      Amy has such a wonderful blog doesn’t she? I checked Catch-22 out from the library, but would like to own it to add to my library collection so I can re-read it in the future.

Leave a Reply

