Skip to content

What book to start reading next?

February 15, 2011

I have a decision to make when I get home and that is what book should I start reading next.  I have two in mind American Gods by Neil Gaiman and The Abyss by Marguerite Yourcenar.  There is no real rhyme or reason to my choices.  I saw The Abyss was listed as one of the top books of the 20th century and the novel synopsis intrigued me so I decided to select it from the library and add it to my Back to the Classics Challenge.  As for Neil Gaiman’s book, I have heard so many things about Neil Gaiman yet I have never read any of his books so I decided to pick up one of his books from the library.  I chose American Gods as I’ve heard it is one of his best novels, so I thought it would be a good starting point.

I imagine Gaiman’s work will be the easier of the two books to read, but should that be the reason to read it first?  Am I making this a contest for myself to see how many books I can get through the fastest?  I shouldn’t … what I should be doing is concentrating on what story line sounds the most intriguing to me at the moment AND alas here is the problem … both stories sound interesting to me … so how do I pick which book to read?

Link to Goodreads on The Abyss

Link to Goodreads on American Gods

American Gods The Abyss

My Question of the day is how do you choose the books you read?  How do you pick that next book to read?  What compels you to make that decision?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 4:51 pm

    Both sound good, always so hard to decide. For me the next book is often because it relates in some way to the one I just finished, or because I have to read it for some kind of deadline. I really don’t know, thinking about it, how it happens! Always difficult though 🙂

    • February 16, 2011 7:06 am

      It is a difficult decision. I usually don’t have this problem and I can’t think how I decide which book I read next either. Usually I pick the book that sounds most interesting.

  2. February 16, 2011 7:06 am

    My final decision was made by asking my husband to choose the book for me. He picked the Abyss so that is what I’m reading.

Leave a Reply

