Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Romance

February 17, 2011
IMGP8458

Image by gwai via Flickr

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

What’s the most romantic book you’ve ever read?

(Mind you, I don’t mean the hard-core stuff you hide in plain wrappers under your mattress. I mean True Love, Romance, deeply emotional, heart-tugging, and all that stuff.)

And, secondly, did you like it? Is it your usual kind of reading, or did it take you by surprise?

For some reason today this question has me stumped.  It’s not that I’ve never read a book with romance in it.  I’ve read many of the classical romances such as those written by Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte, but right now the romance isn’t sticking out in my mind.

It’s been such a long time since I picked up a book where romance was a central theme that nothing truly stands out.  I know I adored the love stories of Austen as a young girl and the same with Jane Eyre, but right now they aren’t my thing.  Romance just isn’t where my interests lie and thus I’m having trouble even pondering this question.

I’ve stopped questing for love stories and happy endings in my readings or even in my movies.  I don’t know where this personality change happened or why.  Perhaps I have become a cynic.  I think more likely I am happy enough in my place in life that I’m not needing to search out the romantic genres.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 8:45 am

    Our responses started almost the exact same way *grin* Glad to know I’m not alone! Here’s mine — Romantic reading… Not so much

  2. February 17, 2011 9:21 am

    I wish I could be more like you. I find it very hard to read a book or watch a movie that does not end happily. If there’s no HEA I feel like the whole thing has been pointless. I don’t know why this is but it’s very limiting. Hopefully, like you, my tastes will change with time.
    Sally.

    Here’s my answer:
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/02/booking-through-thursday-6.html

    • February 17, 2011 2:04 pm

      Oh gosh … now you make me feel old and I’m only 27 😛 … I think tastes change based on life situation too … I must admit though I’ve always been drawn a bit towards the dark side of things towards the tragedies versus comedy and romance and happy endings.

  3. February 17, 2011 10:05 am

    These days, I don’t read many romantic books, either. It’s not that I’m avoiding them on purpose. I just seem to be drawn to other types of books. Maybe I’m a cynic, too!

    • February 17, 2011 2:05 pm

      Ha … Perhaps all of us non-romantic types are just cynics in our own ways 🙂

  4. February 17, 2011 11:14 am

    This was actually a difficult question for me. I just couldn’t choose one. Check out my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  5. February 17, 2011 1:39 pm

    I’m also not much of a romance reader, so my reply was books that I love that also has a good romance in it: http://mostraum.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/booking-through-thursday-romantic/

    • February 17, 2011 2:06 pm

      There are a lot of us out there who aren’t romance readers … your way was a novel way of looking at it … though I must admit lately the books I’ve been reading don’t even have much of the way of romance in them … that I can think of.

  6. February 18, 2011 11:39 am

    I come to you through Rachel’s blog at BookSnob. An interesting question you pose. Have you read Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier? Set during the American Civil War, it follows two lovers, one left to defend the family home, the other off to fight the war for the Confederacy. It is hauntingly beautiful as the two lovers endure to see each other again.

    • February 18, 2011 12:21 pm

      I’ve seen the movie, but I imagine the book would be infinitely better and probably worth the read. I will have to add it to my ever expanding TBR list. Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

