Skip to content

Authors I’d Like to Read

February 21, 2011
Author Elizabeth Jolley and (younger) sister M...

Image by State Library of New South Wales collection via Flickr

A.K.A. The Booklovers Project …

Jillian at A Room of One’s Own was inspired by Amanda at Zen Leaf to start a Booklovers Project.  The idea originally arose from Amanda’s desire to read all of the authors listed in the song The Booklovers by The Divine Comedy.  Jillian expanded on this idea and created a list of all of the authors she’d like to read.  I thought this idea was brilliant and wanted to record somewhere the authors I’d like to read.  I used Jillian’s list to start from.

This is not a challenge, but an ongoing project.  I will record my thoughts on the authors I’ve read and mark them off as I come across them.  I may not read all the authors on my list.  Also, this is not an all inclusive list — I’m sure I’ve left off authors, so if you see I left off someone good … let me know so I can add them.  This list can shrink or grow as I see fit!!

Read 47/144

  1. Albert Camus:
  2. Alexander Pope:
  3. Alexandre Dumas: **Three Musketeers was an excellent book!  I’d like to read Count of Monte Cristo next.
  4. Anais Nin: Read Winter of Artifice – her prose is beautiful.
  5. Anne Bronte:
  6. Anne Frank: **I read Diary of Anne Frank a long time ago and would like to reread it.
  7. Anne Radcliffe:
  8. Anthony Burgess:
  9. Anthony Trollope:
  10. Aphra Behn:
  11. Arthur Conan Doyle: I have read The Hound of Baskervilles and enjoyed it.
  12. Arthur Miller: **Would like to reread the Crucible.
  13. AS Byatt:
  14. Ayn Rand:
  15. Bram Stoker: I was immensely disappointed with the end of Dracula.
  16. Brett Easton Ellis:
  17. C.S. Lewis: **Need to reread Chronicles of Narnia as an adult.
  18. Charles Dickens:
  19. Charles Frazier:
  20. Charlotte Bronte:** Read Jane Eyre a long time ago and loved it.  Need to reread.
  21. Charlotte Perkins Gilman:** Have read her short stories The Yellow Wallpaper & What Diantha Did … I plan on reading more by her as I love her writing style.
  22. Chinue Achebe:
  23. Daniel Defoe:** Read A Journal of the Plague Year and absolutely loved it.  Would like to read Moll Flanders.
  24. Dante Alighieri:  Have read parts of the Divine Comedy, but not the entire thing.
  25. Daphne du Maurier: Rebecca was a great story of love and insecurity and I felt the author had talking straight to you.
  26. Doris Lessing:
  27. E.L. Doctorow:
  28. Edgar Allen Poe:  Read Fall of the House of Usher and several poems.  Will continue reading him.
  29. Edith Wharton: ** Read Ethan Frome in high school … don’t remember much about it … reread?
  30. Elizabeth Bowen:
  31. Elizabeth Gaskell:
  32. EM Forster: I absolutely adored A Room With a View
  33. Emile Zola: Therese Raquin was a great look at the worst side of human nature and what guilt can do to one’s psyche
  34. Emily Bronte: **Read Wuthering Heights a long time ago … need to reread
  35. Ernest Hemingway: He terrifies me!
  36. Evelyn Waugh:
  37. F Scott Fitzgerald: **Read the Great Gatsby in High School … plan to reread
  38. Ford Maddox Ford:
  39. Frances Burney:
  40. Frances Hodgson Burnett:  I read the Secret Garden when I was a child and LOVED it.
  41. Franz Kafka: **Read the Metamorphosis … need to read the Trial
  42. Frederick Douglass:
  43. Fyodor Dostoevsky:
  44. Geoffrey Chaucer:
  45. George Eliot:
  46. George Orwell: **I loved 1984, would like to reread.
  47. Gunter Grass:
  48. Gustave Flaubert:
  49. Graham Greene:
  50. H.G. Wells: **Read War of the Worlds when I was 15, eventually will reread
  51. Harriet Beecher Stowe:
  52. Henrik Ibsen: A Doll’s House was an insightful play looking at marriage
  53. Henry David Thoreau:
  54. Henry Fielding:
  55. Henry James: **Read Turn of the Screw, plan on reading Portrait of a Lady in the near future.
  56. Herman Melville: Terrifies me!
  57. Homer: **Read the Illiad in college and loved it.  Would like to read the Odyssey.
  58. Honore de Balzac:
  59. Iain Banks:
  60. Jack Kerouac: Read Dharma Bums & On the Road, preferred Dharma Bums
  61. Jack London:
  62. James Fenimore Cooper:
  63. James Joyce: Terrifies me!
  64. Jane Austen: I have read every single one of her novels.  I was in love with her writings when I was younger, but it’s been years since I have read anything by her.
  65. JD Salinger: I happened to really like Catcher in the Rye.
  66. Jean-Jacques Rousseau:
  67. Jean Paul Sartre:
  68. Jeffrey Eugenides:
  69. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe:
  70. John Bunyan:
  71. John Irving:
  72. John Locke:
  73. John Milton:
  74. John Steinbeck:
  75. John Updike:
  76. Jonathan Swift: Read some short stories need to read Gulliver’s Travels
  77. Joseph Conrad:
  78. Joseph Heller: Catch-22 was a great book!
  79. JRR Tolkien: LOTR is a must read must own!
  80. Jules Verne:
  81. Karl Marx:
  82. Kate Chopin: **Need to reread the Awakening
  83. Katherine Mansfield:
  84. Kazuo Ishiguro:
  85. Laura Ingalls Wilder:
  86. Leo Tolstoy:
  87. Lewis Carroll: Read Alice in Wonderland but still need to read Through the Looking Glass.
  88. LM Montgomery:
  89. Louisa May Alcott: **I haven’t read Little Women since I was a child — Need to reread!
  90. Malcolm X:
  91. Margaret Atwood: The Handmaid’s Tale was an excellent piece of literature.  Will need to read more of her work.
  92. Margaret Mitchell:
  93. Marguerite Yourcenar: **The Abyss was an excellent book!  Plan on reading Memoirs of Hadrian.
  94. Mark Twain:
  95. Mary Shelley: Frankenstein was a great story.
  96. Mary Wollstonecraft: A Vindication of the Rights of Woman was a difficult read, but well worth it!
  97. Michel de Montaigne: Working on reading his essays right now.
  98. Miguel de Cervantes:
  99. Milan Kundera:
  100. Molière:
  101. Nathaniel Hawthorne: Read A Scarlet Letter in high school and loved it!
  102. Nikolai Gogol
  103. Oscar Wilde: **Loved Picture of Dorian Gray, need to read more of his work.
  104. Percy Bysshe Shelley:
  105. Philippa Gregory:
  106. Plato:
  107. Ralph Ellison:
  108. Ralph Waldo Emerson:
  109. Richard Wright:
  110. Rudyard Kipling: **I was in love with his Just So Stories as a child.  Need to read more of his work.
  111. Salman Rushdie:
  112. Samuel Richardson:
  113. Sinclair Lewis:
  114. Sir Walter Scott:
  115. Sophocles:
  116. Stephen Crane:
  117. Sylvia Plath: I love her poems and the novel the Bell Jar!
  118. T.H. White: I really liked The Once and Future King — read in high school
  119. Tennessee Williams: **Reread the Glass Menagerie
  120. Theodore  Dreiser:
  121. Thomas Hardy:
  122. Thomas Jefferson:
  123. Thomas More:
  124. Thomas Paine:
  125. Toni Morrison:
  126. Tracy Chevalier:
  127. Truman Capote:
  128. Simone de Beauvoir:
  129. Upton Sinclair: **Have read the Jungle.  Would like to read Dragon Teeth.
  130. Victor Hugo:
  131. Virgil:
  132. Virginia Woolf: **I’ve read Orlando and would like to read more of her work.
  133. Vladimir Nabokov:
  134. Voltaire: I recently read Candide and enjoyed it.
  135. W.E.B. Du Bois:
  136. Walt Whitman:
  137. Wilkie Collins: **Read the Evil Genius and would like to read more of his work.
  138. Willa Cather:
  139. William Blake:
  140. William Burroughs
  141. William Faulkner:
  142. William Makepeace Thackeray:
  143. William Shakespeare: What can be said about him that hasn’t already been said.  My first literary love!
  144. William Somerset Maugham:

Here’s the song that started all this madness …

8 Comments leave one →
  1. She permalink
    February 21, 2011 12:56 pm

    I saw this over at Amanda’s blog and have been contemplating joining in. We’ll see! Looks like you have a lot of awesome authors to discover.

    (Just say yes to reading more Dumas. He is wooooonderful.)

    • February 21, 2011 1:16 pm

      I agree completely Dumas is wonderful … I read The Three Musketeers not too long ago and adored it … I will be reading more of his work for sure!

  2. Jillian permalink
    February 21, 2011 7:08 pm

    Yay! Have fun!

    (Hemingway doesn’t scare me, as much as he used to…)

    • February 22, 2011 11:07 am

      I don’t know why Hemingway scares me but he does … I suppose I need to just pick up one of his books and trudge through it and see how I do …

  3. February 22, 2011 1:37 pm

    Quite the list! Best of luck! Also, jumps up in down in excitement over seeing Achebe on the list 🙂

    • February 22, 2011 1:53 pm

      Ha ha … I knew you would be approving of Achebe. He was on a list I looked over of 100 best authors and I couldn’t pass him up. This list is going to take me a long time to go through, but I wanted to collect any authors I thought I should read.

  4. February 22, 2011 8:09 pm

    Ooh, nice to see Elizabeth Bowen on your list, she’s one of my favourites! I’ll be hosting a read-along of any of her books in April, so if you want to get started on her then, feel free to join in. I love Elizabeth Gaskell too, North & South is a combination of Pride & Prejudice and Jane Eyre, I think. I’m also fond of E.M. Forster, A Room with a View is short and sweet. Also I encourage reading Portrait of a Lady! And why not try The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton if Ethan Frome didn’t quite work for you? Anyways… good list!

    • February 23, 2011 6:17 am

      Oh nice … I will definitely check out your read-along of Elizabeth Bowen. I’ve been thinking of reading The Age of Innocence, just haven’t gotten to it yet. I can tell you love the books you described and that makes me that much more enthusiastic to read Bowen, Gaskell, Forster, and Wharton. Thank you for spreading your enthusiasm 🙂

Leave a Reply

