Skip to content

Summary – The Month of February

March 1, 2011
February: A typical winter's day. Some peasant...

February: A typical winter's day

Though February was a shorter month I still got a reasonable amount of reading and blogging done.  The month of February was a good month for me with the arrival of a Kindle, the chance for a new job interview, and my first advanced review copy being sent to me (which will be reviewed in March).

Books Read:

  • Agaat by Marlene Van Niekerk
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library
    • Paperback, 581 pages
  • Subjection of Women by John Stuart Mill
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library & Read Electronically on Project Gutenberg
    • Read for A Year of Feminist Classics
  • So Vast the Prison by Assia Djebar
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library
    • Hardcover, 363 pages
  • The Birth House by Ami McKay
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library
    • Paperback, 416 pages
  • The Abyss by Marguerite Yourcenar
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library
    • Hardcover, 374 pages
    • Read for Back to the Classics Challenge
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman
    • blog post
    • Rented from the Everett Public Library
    • Hardcover, 465 pages
    • Read for Back to the Classics Challenge
  • Better Together by Raymond Rose
    • blog post
    • Provided to me by the author
    • Ebook (Kindle), 290 pages
    • Reviewed for author
  • The Fire Inside by Raymond Rose
    • blog post
    • Provided to me by the author
    • Ebook (Kindle), 480 pages
    • Reviewed for author

Notes:

During the last couple of weeks of February I updated the style of my blog, I hope everyone likes it.  If you see anything that looks out of place or is difficult to read, please let me know.  This blog is a work in progress.

A Year of Feminist Classics:

I absolutely loved John Stuart Mill’s essay that we read for this month.  It was a well thought out argument for equal rights for women in 1860s England.  The other discussions on this essay and the Feminist Classics project itself make it highly worthwhile to stop by the blog site here.

Back to the Classics Challenge:

I read two of the more contemporary books for the Back to the Classics Challenge.  Yourcenar’s book The Abyss definitely qualifies as a classic piece of literature, but I’m not certain Gaiman’s American Gods does.  It’s hard to determine what is a classic if you have never read the book and strictly go off what other people say.  I still have 5 more books for the Back to the Classics Challenge and since you can choose them yourself, I keep updating and altering my choices.

New Kindle:

The last weekend in the month of February I got a Kindle.  I have already spent a large amount of time filling it with classical literature (spanning from Anne Bronte to Emile Zola), so the month of March should have a fair amount of classical works interspersed through out it.

Additional Topics:

I made a list of Authors I’d like to read which influenced what authors I added to my new Kindle.  I also added a new feature in my Reading List page that allows me to track not only what I read, but where I’ve been in reading.  Both of these ideas were influenced by Jillian at A Room of One’s Own.

A feature in the menus at the top of the page under reviews allows my reviews to now be searched not only by author and title, but by genre.

I also created a general set of policies for this blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 8:14 am

    I like the new blog design! The Year of Feminist Classics challenge looks really interesting. I’ve read some on the list.

    • March 1, 2011 8:22 am

      Thanks! You should check out the challenge, the discussions on the books are really interesting. I’ve been thoroughly enjoying it.

  2. March 8, 2011 10:59 am

    What a fantastic month you had, I’m awful jealous of the amazing books!! Also… A KINDLE! So exciting! I somehow missed that post 🙂 Love the new layout as well.

Leave a Reply

