Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Multitasking

March 10, 2011
On the platform, reading

Image by moriza via Flickr

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

Do you multi-task when you read? Do other things like stirring things on the stove, brushing your teeth, watching television, knitting, walking, et cetera?

Or is it just me, and you sit and do nothing but focus on what you’re reading?

(Or, if you do both, why, when, and which do you prefer?)

My Answer …

I suppose at some point I usually end up multitasking while I read.  This is not my preference, though it is a reality.  I usually read on the couch with my fiance who is usually watching TV, so by proxy oftentimes I end up catching bits and pieces of TV.  Other times I’ll be reading and find myself having to try and have a conversation.  Sometimes I get up while reading to quickly do some minor task in the house, but I always end up back in my favorite spot.  My cats also force me to multitask by making me play with them and pet them while reading.  This one I don’t mind so much as they are cute and cuddly.

What I prefer is the quiet solitude of me and my books. I love being able to simply focus on the written word and to get lost in the worlds presented before me.  My favorite moments are when I can relax comfortably on my chair and lock the real world out and fall into the world of my books.  That is the truly best way to read.  When it is just you as the reader focusing on your one and only task.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 7:20 am

    Reading without doing anything else at the same time is my preference, too.

  2. March 10, 2011 7:35 am

    My Shelfari friends and I had a discussion about that. Reading and multitasking are not a good idea for us. I’ve burned the baked goods, toasted the bacon, overcooked the eggs–it’s not pretty.

    When I was younger, I used to be able to listen to music, watch tv and read. I don’t know how I did it. That I can recall everything I read is even more amazing.

    Now, I have to have almost complete silence to read my books (if they’re any good). If they’re plot driven fluff reads, I can pretty much have the tv on loud and still follow the thread. I guess it depends on how difficult the book it.

    • March 10, 2011 7:58 am

      I prefer complete silence to read my books … however my apartment is rarely completely silent.

  3. March 10, 2011 8:04 am

    Modern life intrudes far too much on reading, I find.

    • March 10, 2011 4:20 pm

      I hear that. Especially at work…I didn’t consider it multi-tasking, but just having other people walking in and out of the breakroom, having limited time (breaks/lunch) to read, and sometimes just being stuck with thoughts of the work I just left at the computer and have to go back to draw away from the best reading experience.

  4. March 10, 2011 8:23 am

    I can’t do anything except listen to music when I am reading! I gotta turn to Audio books! Only way to keep up with reading!

    Here is my BTT: Multi-Tasking post!

  5. March 10, 2011 10:42 am

    Mostly, I like a quiet place to read.

  6. March 10, 2011 11:17 am

    Though I often multitask, my favorite reading memories are those in which the book has my undivided attention for hours at a time. 🙂

  7. March 10, 2011 11:20 am

    I get seriously annoyed when people try to have a conversation with me when I’m reading.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-9.html

  8. March 10, 2011 11:49 am

    I prefer not to; but hubby sometimes depands attention and I also do some cooking while reading. Not often but it happens.

  9. March 10, 2011 2:30 pm

    I can do both, I like the quiet times but I also multitask: http://mostraum.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/booking-through-thursday-multitasking/

  10. March 10, 2011 3:11 pm

    I hate when people want to talk when they see I have a book in my hands. What do they think I’m doing?

    • March 10, 2011 4:21 pm

      I used to get that at a couple old jobs, especially a factory. What am I doing “hiding” and avoiding the lunchroom with a book to my face? Probably not waiting to be engaged in conversation at that particular moment in time…

  11. March 10, 2011 4:23 pm

    Thanks for the comment on my post today! I *am* a bit weird about library stuff–and that’s even with a mother who works in a library, and having been through library school myself. 🙂

  12. March 10, 2011 5:17 pm

    There’s no better feeling than being lost in a book, that’s for sure.

  13. March 10, 2011 5:22 pm

    I prefer quiet when I read, too.

Leave a Reply

