Skip to content

Indecisiveness

March 11, 2011
tags: ,
Bored Kitty (Mara – dragonflyy419’s cat)

Last night I had a moment of indecisiveness which has trailed onto today.  I don’t know what to read.  Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of books to choose from.  I keep picking up books and reading the first few pages, but after not feeling like I’m getting into them I’ve set them aside.

I’m not sure what’s going on here, am I just feeling despondent in general and is it rubbing off onto my reading choices?  Am I holding the pedestal too high?

For some reason I want a book that will sweep me away that will be an epic read and among the books I have right now I can’t find that perfect book.  I feel traitorous, I have some excellent books in my TBR pile and with my Kindle and the wonders of Project Gutenberg I can get my hands on most classic novels.

However, everything I think of is just not doing it for me.    I feel like there is something wrong with me right now.  I feel like I’m being a petulant child.  I just want to read something magnificent.  I feel I need that right now.

Do you ever find the books you have aren’t the books you want to read?  Do you ever have those moments when what you would like to read isn’t what you want to read?

I’m still at an impasse — I’m not sure what I’ll be picking up next!

If you are wondering what I have to choose from — here is my To Read List from Goodreads:

my to-read shelf:
dragonflyy419's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (to-read shelf)

Any votes on what I should read?  Maybe I’m just missing something.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 11:11 am

    I think everyone goes through this at one time or another. When I have, I just take a brief hiatus and the issue seems to resolve. Good luck.

  2. Jillian permalink
    March 11, 2011 2:02 pm

    I have the opposite problem. I want to read ALL my books at the same time.

  3. Jillian permalink
    March 11, 2011 2:04 pm

    You want sweeping and epic? Scrap everything on your TBR list and pick up Gone With the Wind.

Leave a Reply

