Skip to content

Literary Blog Hop – The Last One

March 17, 2011

Literary Blog Hop

Today’s question asks:

“What one literary work must you read before you die?”

My answer …Well my initial reaction is NO … how dare you make me choose?  There are so many books I must read before I die.  There are so many authors and stories I need to experience (I even have a list of ones I want to read here).  I haven’t read War & Peace.  I’ve yet to read all of William Shakespeare’s plays.  I’ve never had a chance to read Plato.  How could I possibly choose one last book?

If I must choose though, the scientist in me has made the decision.  I still have never read Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species and that is a book I need to read before I die.  Why?  Everything I studied discussed Charles Darwin, but for some reason I have never read anything written directly by the man.  I am fascinated by the meticulous care he took in writing this book and it is a piece of non-fiction work that changed the world.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:14 am

    I loved that Darwin book. I have gifted copies of it to my nephews and nieces!

    I have mentioned poetry in my post. Come check the poets listed there.

    Here is my Literary Blog Hop post!

  2. March 17, 2011 11:45 am

    I’m very skeptical about this book. I read somewhere that Darwin wrote this book in a fit of rage at God because his young daughter died. Makes me wonder how meticulous it truly is…

  3. March 17, 2011 2:16 pm

    Glad someone else thought No Please don’t make me choose, and a great end choice, I prevaricated, sulked, stomped my feet, then picked a book about reading & books.

    • March 17, 2011 6:36 pm

      I definitely thought how can they possibly make me choose. A book about reading books is brilliant!

  4. March 17, 2011 4:18 pm

    That’s a good choice. I’m reading a book about evolution right now (VERY slowly), by Richard Dawkins, and the original work must be fascinating.

    I chose novels! http://www.whatbookshouldireadtoday.com/2011/03/literary-blog-hop-hosted-by-blue.html

  5. Jillian permalink
    March 17, 2011 9:46 pm

    Ah, yes, Darwin. Excellent choice, and I love your reasoning. He’s on my list, too. 🙂

  6. March 18, 2011 2:44 am

    An interesting choice-when I first the question I did not want to answer it-but then I decided to get in the spirit of it and my answer is to reread Ulysses

  7. March 18, 2011 5:34 am

    Interesting choice! When are you starting? On my blog post for this topic, I’m urging people to actually READ that book they SHOULD read! Mine will be read by April 12th.

    • March 18, 2011 8:19 am

      Oooo … nice challenge … I don’t know when I’m going to read it, but now that I’m challenged to I have to get my hands on a copy and start reading 🙂

  8. March 18, 2011 3:02 pm

    Drawin is a good choice. I haven’t read him either, but it sounds like he would be a perfect fit for you.

    I like that you kind of refuse to answer the question. I hope you get through all the books you want to!

  9. March 18, 2011 3:06 pm

    I have Darwin’s book on my TBR pile because I think it is an important book to read. Am now following you.

  10. March 18, 2011 3:34 pm

    Funny, I’m a fan and a believer of Darwin’s work but I’m yet to read any of his books. Great choice and a reminder to me to read this particular book. Thanks 🙂

    • March 21, 2011 6:38 am

      I’m the same way, I’m a fan and a believer, but have never read him first hand. I suppose it’s time to change that.

  11. March 18, 2011 4:52 pm

    Origin of the Species is a book I feel I should want to read, but I’m not sure I have the focus for it at this time. Interesting choice though.

  12. March 18, 2011 6:25 pm

    True… You have me thinking…

Leave a Reply

