Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Serial

March 24, 2011
Harry Potter book series

Image by bibicall via Flickr

It’s Thursday and time for Booking through Thursday.  Today’s Question is as follows:

Series? or Stand alone books?

My Answer …

Well first off I must say what an ambiguous question.  I must assume it is asking me what my preference is and for that question … well the answer is simple I don’t have one.

As long as it is well written, I don’t mind reading a series of books or a single book.  The key is that the book or set of books needs to be enjoyable.  If a series or book is well written I will get sucked into it and won’t want to stop reading until I hit a conclusion.

There are definitely downfalls to both forms.  In a series you can get stuck in a perpetual loop of the author leaving you hanging waiting for the next piece of the puzzle.  In a stand alone things can get concluded too quickly.

Lately I’ve taken a step away from reading series to read mostly stand alone books, but eventually I will return to one of my old favorite favorite genres, fantasy, where there are many series to choose from.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 7:26 am

    I like both too. I try to avoid a lot of series to make sure I have time for stand-alone books, but there are some series that I really love too.

    • March 24, 2011 7:39 am

      I agree. I have been avoiding series lately to make room for a lot of stand-alone books that I really want to read.

  2. March 24, 2011 8:07 am

    I like both, but books in a series more. Here is my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  3. March 24, 2011 9:08 am

    You’re right; it doesn’t really matter if it’s a stand-alone or series as long as they are well-written and there’s a good story. Both have their pros and cons.

  4. March 24, 2011 9:43 am

    I find that lately I am searching for good stand-alones I feel a bit burnt out with series books.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-10.html

  5. March 24, 2011 10:33 am

    What a diplomatic answer! 😀 I tend to get too wrapped up in series and I’m finding that I actually prefer stand alone books a bit more! At least you get some closure… I do agree that sometimes things seem to be rushed to get it all wrapped up though.

  6. March 24, 2011 10:58 am

    I like both, as long as it keeps your interest.

  7. March 24, 2011 7:29 pm

    I like both too. I used to prefer series, but now I’ll take anything that’s good.

Leave a Reply

