Skip to content

A Few Words on The Imperfect Enjoyment by Dewan W. Gibson

March 30, 2011

The Imperfect Enjoyment (Goodreads)

The Imperfect Enjoyment is a male’s perspective on sex, love, and relationships — it is “a bachelor’s memoir.”  I digested the story in one sitting and it was good enough that I couldn’t put the book down. 

The memoir is a straight forward and no holds barred look at a man in his twenties and his relationships with women, both serious and not so serious.  The book is written in a contemporary style with a lot of slang and easy going language.  Despite this the writing is superb.  The book flows well and the story line is easy to follow.

This book provided an interesting perspective for me, as a Caucasian female in my twenties, to see the world through the eyes of an African American male of the same age.  Gibson’s views on sex and women are often unapologetic in this book.  However he keeps his views lighthearted and humorous.  He also deals with hard issues such as prejudices, difficulties in interracial dating, and dating outside of religions.  He also touches on issues of sexuality from the male perspective and though he his humorous about it he is also accepting.

I was most sympathetic with the narrator when he was going through relationships and when he was dealing with the emotions of lost love.  I think Gibson was able to nail the feelings of someone in love quite well and what can happen to a person when their heart is broken.  Once again it was amusing to see this from the male perspective instead of the female perspective.  I think emotions get brushed aside a little more easily with jokes, but they are still present.

For those shy of intimate descriptions of sex scenes I would steer clear of this book as it is full of them.  Gibson can get quite descriptive when talking about sex, especially when reminiscing about his independent bachelor days.  This book also discusses the use of alcohol in copious amounts and some drug usage.

I would describe this book as a coming of age tale of the post college male.  It talks about first loves, forbidden loves, playing the field, and finding true love.  Instead of it being written in the classic style, it is written in an in your face comedic fashion with plenty of modern references.

Gibson is foremost a genius at comic writing and descriptions.  Many times while reading this I found myself chuckling at his descriptions of people and places.  Though I do think that sometimes his descriptions of women were rather irreverent.   However, perhaps that is to be expected in a “bachelor’s memoir.”

One of my favorite images in the book is after he gets high for the first time and is sitting on the beach.

“After ten or twelve draws, I’m high.  My senses become bionic.  I hear a slight chirping.  Influenced by a Discovery Channel program on sea mammals, I think it’s the noise of dolphins flirting.”

Overall, though I don’t think this is a book for everyone, I feel that The Imperfect Enjoyment gives an interesting perspective on the young contemporary male in a humorous fashion.  If you don’t mind a little sex and drugs in your book and like comedy this is a good and quick book to read.

I received this book from Roue Media/Irc BooksFor more information on The Imperfect Enjoyment by Dewan W. Gibson go HERE.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2011 10:13 am

    Very interesting review. I read many memoirs and for a few I just sit and wonder “why did you write this?”.

    I’m glad you enjoyed a memoir of someone who is completely different than you are, that is an accomplishment.

    • March 30, 2011 10:28 am

      I often wonder the same thing …

      Thanks, I really did enjoy the memoir and despite differences there were a lot of moments where I completely related to him.

  2. March 30, 2011 6:13 pm

    Sounds like a really interesting read.

  3. March 31, 2011 10:26 am

    Thanks a lot for reviewing my work! Best of luck to you.

Trackbacks

  1. THE IMPERFECT BLOG » Blog Archive » New Review

Leave a Reply

