Skip to content

Summary — The Month of March

March 31, 2011
March: the Château de Lusignan, from Très Rich...

Image via Wikipedia

The month of March was a great month for me reading wise.  Using Project Gutenberg, ManyBooks.net, Amazon.com and Open Library I was able to fill my new Kindle up with some great books to read.  I received two memoirs and a fantasy novel to review.  I also went to my very first book club meeting and a feminist one at that!  I did have a few days of despondency over my reading choices, but I got over that and ended up being on a roll and have been reading some really interesting books lately.

Books Read

  • The Day Nina Simone Stopped Singing by Darina Al-Joundi
    • blog post
    • Provided by The Feminist Press for review
    • Paperback, 144 pages
  • Therese Raquin by Émile Zola
    • blog post
    • Downloaded from Project Gutenberg
    • Ebook (Kindle)
  • A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen
    • blog post
    • Own copy
    • Paperback, part of a collection of 3 plays
    • Read for A Year of Feminist Classics
  • A Room with A View by E.M. Forster
    • blog post
    • Downloaded from Project Gutenberg
    • Ebook (Kindle)
    • Read for Back to the Classics Challenge
  • Winter of Artifice by Anais Nin
    • blog post
    • Downloaded from Open Library
    • Ebook (Kindle)
  • Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    • blog post
    • Downloaded from Amazon.com
    • Ebook (Kindle), 176 pages
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    • blog post
    • Purchased from Amazon.com
    • Ebook (Kindle), 320 pages
    • Read for Feminist Book Club
  • The Golem by Gustav Meyrink
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
    • blog post
    • Rented from Everett Public Library
    • Hardcover, 357 pages
  • Act of Redemption by C.C. Cole
    • blog post
    • Provided by the author for review
    • Ebook (PDF), 212 pages
  • The Imperfect Enjoyment by Dewan W. Gibson
    • blog post
    • Provided by Roue Media/Irc Books for review
    • Ebook (Kindle),  176 pages

Notes:

I wrote 25 blogs this month (26 if you include this one).

Irish Short Story Week:

In honor of St Patrick’s Day Irish Short Story Week was created and hosted by Mel u at The Reading Life.  The event was great fun and I learned a lot from Mel’s posts.  I wrote posts on 10 short stories by 5 authors — Frank O’Connor, Brendan Behan, Maria Edgeworth, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, and Oscar Wilde.  Four of the authors were writers I had never been exposed to before.

A Year of Feminist Classics:

This month’s read was the play A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen.  I’m not always the greatest at reading and interpreting plays but I found I really enjoyed this one.  Though I enjoyed the reading, I wasn’t as active this month in the discussions and reading others posts for this book as I was for previous books.

Back to the Classics Challenge:

I finally decided what to read for my 19th Century Classic, which was funny because before I decided I had read a few other 19th century classics that I could have probably used.  I really enjoyed reading E.M. Forster’s A Room With a View.

Author’s I’d Like to Read:

Last month I added the post Author’s I’d Like to Read, this month I read some of those authors.  I was able to mark off my list the following authors: Anais Nin, Daphne du Maurier, E.M. Forster,  Émile Zola, Frances Hodgson Burnett, and Margaret Atwood.  My list has been a great way to help me find books that I would like to read and a nice way to motivate me to read new and interesting books.

Additional Topics:

This month I updated my About section with some descriptions of my reading habits and goals.  I also created a Facebook Page for the blog as an experiment in networking, please feel free to visit it.

Overall, I think this was a pretty productive month for me.  I’m excited for April to come along as it happens to be one of my favorite months of the year!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 3:22 pm

    Irish Short Story week was fun for me and very much a learning experience for me-your participation was great!-I hope we can do it again next year

  2. April 2, 2011 5:30 pm

    Wow: it looks like you had a great month! I had a roomie who was named Anais; she found it a bit embarrassing. 😉

    • April 2, 2011 8:24 pm

      Thanks Eva! I could imagine she would have been slightly embarrassed, but all the same it is a pretty name and Anais Nin was actually a really good writer.

Trackbacks

  1. The Real March Madness « Indigo Moods

Leave a Reply

