Skip to content

Slow Reading

April 22, 2011

My TBR Pile

This month so far I feel like I’ve approached my reading at a really slackened pace.  I’ve constantly had a book with me, but I’ve been reading a lot of non-fiction and I find I read them at a considerably different and slower pace then I read fiction books.

I’ve read one biography and am reading a second biography this week.  I find them really fascinating, but I tend to read them sooo slowly.  Sometimes I almost get frustrated at how slowly I approach them, but I think there is something different about reading facts in how I tend to go through the book.  I find myself re-reading passages and pondering information a lot more.  The first biography I read was on Thomas De Quincey a notorious opium addict in 19th century England (review here) and the second one I am reading right now is about a Jewish woman who converted to Islam in the 1960s.  Both are extremely fascinating subjects but both are books that I am trudging and have trudged through slowly.  With me fiction is very easy to read and I fly through those books, but when it comes to non-fiction I am immensely slow and methodical in my reading.

Aside from the type of reading other things have been slowing my reading pace up this month.  My work load for the first time in months has increased.  I had my birthday this past week and I’ve been sick.  All seem to have slowed down the pace.  I’ve also felt distracted from my books, despite buying several and wanting to read them all.

That’s the funny part of all of this:  I want to keep finishing up books so I can move on to the next book.  I have a whole pile of great books to choose from and I want to read each and every one of them right now.  I’m impatient to finish the book I am reading, but I also want to give it my full attention.  In other words … I’m desperate to quicken my pace … but I know that is not going to happen.  Really what I want is to take a few days and do nothing but read, but unfortunately life is getting in the way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 1:58 pm

    It definitely seems to take me a lot longer to read a non-fiction book than a fiction one. I find I can only absorb a lot of facts if I read slowly and give the book my full attention. And yes, it’s frustrating when you have a huge TBR pile and want to read them all at once!

    • April 24, 2011 9:55 am

      I’m glad I’m not alone. I felt like I was sinking under my pile of TBRs and wanted so much to just read everything all at once, but also wanted to savor what I have been reading.

Leave a Reply

