Skip to content

I Broke My Kindle

May 16, 2011

Broken Kindle

You know how when you are sick you do stupid irresponsible things?  Yep that’s how I managed to break my Kindle.  I started treating it like it was a regular book and not an expensive electronic item.  So as I do with my books I put it on the floor next to where I was sitting.  Then later on in the day when I got up I stepped on it.  I barely stepped on it, but enough to damage it irreversibly.  So now I have no Kindle … well … thanks to extended warranties I’m only going to have no Kindle for a couple of days, but man what rotten luck.  I hate breaking expensive things.  Also I was in the middle of reading a book on my Kindle.  Oh well … thankfully I still constantly buy regular books and go to the library.

I suppose the moral of this story is don’t treat your Kindle like a real book, because as much as you want it to be one … it isn’t one!  Also beware of playing with expensive electronic items when sick — you never know what you are going to do to them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 1:43 am

    I am glad you are able to get a new one right away and hope you are feeling better

  2. May 17, 2011 10:31 am

    What a bummer. I agree that it’s so easy to forget and be careless. My Kindle constantly end up close to the sink because I read while washing my hands and brushing my teeth. So far I’ve avoided soaking it, but I know I’m pushing my luck. I hope you get you new one soon, and don’t start treating it as a book too.

  3. May 19, 2011 11:38 am

    I’m terrified of doing this to my Kindle! I’m glad I have a case for it, because that makes me feel better about shoving it into my purse willy-nilly and putting it down places where it shouldn’t be put, but I’m still afraid of hurting it. Expensive electronics are scary sometimes…

Leave a Reply

