Skip to content

Reading/Blogging Slump

June 10, 2011

Since I got extremely ill at the beginning of May, I’ve had great difficulty getting back into the groove of things.  My reading has fallen incredibly behind and so has my blogging.  Some switch seemed to have been turned in my body, that has just made me be so lazy that I couldn’t even feel motivated to read, much less blog.  I’m trying to get back into the swing of things.  First, I’m finally back at work, which you would think would discourage me from reading but it actually encourages me.  Second, I’m trying to make an effort to be more active and to pursue the things I love – like reading – which I have neglected for the past month.    I’m hoping I can find my motivation once again and start actively blogging and reading again.  I’ve been bad about even reading the blogs I am subscribed to.  I miss the community and reading the review recommendations of others.  I am sorry if I’ve seemed disconnected and not paying attention to this blog, but I am making an effort to get out of this slump.

On a completely different note – I got two new family members.  I’d like to introduce them here.  My two girl rats – Loki & Thor (yes I know they have boy names):

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 3:16 pm

    Aww what cuties. Congrats on the new family additions 🙂 Also, I know what you mean about working makes you read more. It seems like when you have nothing to do even reading doesn’t get done sometimes. I hope that you get back into the swing of things! 🙂

    • June 13, 2011 6:09 pm

      It is so true that nothing leads to doing more nothing. I’m working really hard at getting back into the swing of things. I miss the book blogging community.

  2. June 10, 2011 5:33 pm

    Sorry to hear you were ill, but glad you are slowly feeling better.
    we all have those moments (I’m still catching up on reading posts from May and even April!), no need to feel bad about it because it will block you even more. Take it easy, do as you feel!
    I love your rats! They’re cute!

    • June 13, 2011 6:10 pm

      Thanks for the support. It’s good to have someone remind me that I need to do as I feel as this is a blog primarily for me. 🙂

  3. June 10, 2011 6:09 pm

    Am hoping things will keep getting better for you — been there & it’s soooooooo hard. If it turns out to be a beautiful summer, hopefully the lovely weather will help. Your 2 sweeties are absolutely ADORABLE. A friend of mine has 6 rats & I met them last winter — before then, I had no idea what incredible little personalities they had — oh my gosh… there was one who sat in her little hammock and stared at us with her pretty brown eyes as if to say, “I wish you guys would come over here and play with me!” Oh, she was so precious — I really wanted to take her home with me, but I have kitties who are so mischievous and a tad bit naughty… didn’t want to take the chance that they would think that sweet girl was a toy that I brought home especially for them. So happy that you have 2 more beauties 🙂 Have an awesome weekend!! Tera

    • June 13, 2011 6:11 pm

      Thank you! Rats are so much fun and you’d think they wouldn’t get along with my 3 cats, but so far things have been relatively harmonious in the house. The cats are mostly just curious and don’t want to do any harm.

  4. She permalink
    June 10, 2011 6:59 pm

    Glad you’re back!

  5. June 11, 2011 2:59 am

    Glad you are feeling better-your rats are cute-if you are in a reading slump try a few short stories-there are 1000s you can read on line for free-

    did you get a change to read any of “At The Barricades Yet” I found it very beautiful and moving

    • June 13, 2011 6:13 pm

      I read all of “Barricades.” Thank you for sharing it with me – it was truly haunting and beautiful poetry. I will definitely start supplementing my reading with short stories – and your blog is definitely where I will go to look for advice on what short stories to read 🙂

  6. Jillian ♣ permalink
    June 11, 2011 3:17 pm

    So sorry to hear you haven’t been well! Welcome back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

